School Board recognizes permanent staff | News, Sports, Jobs

FAIRMONT– The Fairmont School Board met on Tuesday for their September meeting.

During the meeting, they recognized the tenure of the teachers and discussed the official opening of the high school‘s vocational and technical education center (CTE), as well as other matters.

Immediately after the approval of the meeting agenda, the board recognized 11 staff members who were granted tenure. These staff members are teachers, supervisors, or principals who have completed three years with Fairmont area schools or one year with the district if they came from another Minnesota district.

Tenure went to Grade 5 teacher, Allissa VanBrocklin; ESL teacher, Linda Hughes; math teacher, Amanda Weihe; special education teacher, Melinda Chambers; educational coach, Kristine Flohrs; elementary school co-director Brian Grensteiner; kindergarten teacher, Megan Potthoff; second-grade teacher, Maisy Jorgensen; special educator, Robin Armitage; high school co-principal, Chad Brusk; specialist teacher, Brooke Kain.

Following the tenure recognition, the board heard a report from Fairmont Director of Education and Recreation, Stephanie Busiahn. Busiahn has now completed her first year as CER Director and CER has completed a full year at her location at the Southern Minnesota Educational Campus. Over the summer, the CER offered 65 youth and adult programs. The CER had 756 youth participants in sports and recreation programs and 141 participants in adult enrichment programs. Participation in the program was very high across the board, with many activities registering the highest levels of participants recorded for several years.

After Busiahn’s report, the board heard from Superintendent Andrew Traetow.

Traetow said back to school is going very well. Facility staff worked long hours before the start of the school year in order to receive temporary occupancy permission for the school’s new CTE center. Classes have started in the new facility although some minor adjustments and changes still need to be made to the building. Traetow announced that the facility will have its official ribbon cutting and open house following the October 11 school board meeting, which will be held at the new facility. It will be one year to the day after the start of work on the center in 2021.

Traetow provided an update on the district’s COVID-19 reporting system.

“At this time, we will not notify families of individual cases, but we will maintain aggregate data as the school year progresses and make any necessary adjustments,” said Traetow.

When the council discussed financial matters, it accepted two donations. The first one

was a $1,000 grant from the Southwest Initiative Foundation’s Odell Wind Farm Community Fund to purchase new equipment for the robotics team. The second donation was $444 from the Grace Lutheran Church Trust Fund and went to the Fairmont Elementary Student Activities Fund.

Subsequently, the board accepted the resignation of school crossing guard Dave Johnson as well as paraprofessionals Joyce Schmidt, NaTosha Thomas and Karen Flores. The board also approved the employment contracts of CER administrative assistant John Bartscher, substitute teacher Jennifer Streit, early childhood aide Ashley Jones, school crossing guard David Subbert and high school paraprofessional Courtney. Williams.

Prior to the adjournment of the meeting, Board Member Dan Brookens provided an update from the Operations Committee. The district has completed a high school science classroom renovation and expects its new football scoreboard to arrive and be installed before Friday’s game.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Comments are closed.