Edgefield County School District Names Teacher and Employee of the Year | Aiken standard

The Edgefield County School District (ECSD) is thrilled to announce that Merriwether Elementary School teacher Tiffany Burton is the school district’s Teacher of the Year, and Hunter Wilson, Special Needs Assistant from Strom Thurmond High School, as District Support Staff Employee of the Year.

Each school year, ECSD schools select a Teacher of the Year (TOY) and Support Staff of the Year (SSOY). Honorees are nominated and selected by their peers before district-level honors are presented at an annual celebration. This year’s celebration was hosted by the Pine Ridge Country Club.

“Tiffany Burton and Hunter Wilson and our 2022 Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year recipients are all outstanding representatives of the kind of educational excellence we find present in so many of our classrooms. and schools,” said the superintendent of the Edgefield County School District. Dr. Kevin O’Gorman. “We are honored to celebrate them today and every day for all they do for our students and the school district family.”

Burton, a third-grade teacher, thanked her administrators and colleagues for providing so much love and support during her 10 years of teaching at the school.

“I have incredible support from everyone at Merriwether Elementary because without them I couldn’t do what I do,” Burton said. “Merriwether Elementary is a great place and an incredible place to teach. It’s something incredible that I will cherish forever.

Wilson also praised his colleagues for their support.

“I received the greatest support from my colleagues at Strom Thurmond High School,” Wilson said. “It’s a moment I will never forget and I really appreciate this opportunity.”

At Friday’s celebration, Natoshia Ryan, 2022 Bus Driver of the Year, and Kenneth Jackson, 2022 District Office Support Staff Employee of the Year, were also honored.

2022 ECSD Teacher of the Year recipients include Ashley Richards from Douglas Elementary School, Kimberly Rowe from Johnston Elementary School, Leigh Raines from WE Parker Elementary School, Julie Hewston from Johnston-Edgefield Middle School- Trenton, Diane Knight of Merriwether Middle School, Paul Bundy of Strom Thurmond High School, and Michelle Smith of Strom Thurmond Career and Technology Center.

The 2022 ECSD Support Staff of the Year recipients include Allean Oliphant from Douglas Primary School, Brandy Carroll from Johnston Primary School, John Oliphant from Merriwether Primary School, Nikki Burden from WE Parker Primary School, Deborah Williams of Johnston-Edgefield-Trenton Middle School, DeWayne Lee of Merriwether Middle School, and Sunny Covar of Strom Thurmond Career and Technology Center.

Congratulations to our 2022 Teacher of the Year and our 2022 Support Staff of the Year!

Comments are closed.